

LAANC

Local Authorities' Aircraft Noise Council Director Colin Stanbury -Tel: 01932 785841 President Michael Elliot Chairman Councillor Malcolm Beer www.laanc-heathrow.org.uk

MINUTES OF

THE LOCAL AUTHORITIES' AIRCRAFT NOISE COUNCIL ANNUAL GENERAL COUNCIL MEETING HELD AT SPELTHORNE BOROUGH COUNCIL OFFICES, KNOWLE GREEN, STAINES, MIDDLESEX on

FRIDAY 14th SEPTEMBER 2018 at 10.30 a.m.

	THOSE IN ATTENDANCE
	Mrs Val Beale, Hillingdon, Cllr. Malcolm Beer, R.B. Windsor & Maidenhead, Mr John Coates, Richmond, Mr. M. Elliott, President; Dr Chris Hill Independent, Dr Margaret Majumdar, ENAG (Vice president), Cllr June Nelson, Hillingdon, Mr Arun Sood, Treasurer, Mr Peter Willan Richmond Heathrow Campaign, Mr Colin Stanbury Director, Mr Surinderpal Suri Hounslow, Cllr Howard Thomson (Vice chair), Spelthorne Mr Paul Baker, Hammersmith and Fulham, Cllr Dexter Smith Colnbrook & Poyle, Mr Graham Young Richings Park RA, Councillor Joanna Dabrowska, Cllr Amit Verma Datchet PC.
1.0	WELCOME
1.1	The President, Mr. Michael Elliott was in the Chair and welcomed members to the Annual General Meeting.

2.0	APOLOGIES FOR ABSENCE
2.1	Cllr John Bowden, RB Windsor and Maidenhead, Mr. Terry Collier, Treasurer, Cllr. Martin Ellengorn, Richmond upon Thames, Cllr Wendy Matthews Iver Parish Council, Paul Leadbeater Elmbridge (Observer) Mr Chris Nash Windsor and Maidenhead, Cllr Anna Tomlinson Ealing, Cllr Richard Baker Richmond upon Thames.
3.0	MINUTES OF THE AGM HELD ON 15TH SEPTEMBER 2017:
3.1	The Minutes of the 15th September 2017 AGM, having previously been circulated were considered and amended as follows:-
3.2	Item 9 was amended from:
	"It was unanimously agreed that the Executive members be as below in addition to the President, Chairman and vice Chairmen who are ex officio members:
	to
	It was unanimously agreed that the Executive members be as below in addition to the President, Chairman and vice Presidents who are ex officio members:
3.3	Item 10 was amended from:
	"The AGM closed at 11.50pm
	to
	The AGM closed at 11.50am
3.4	With the addition of the aforementioned amendments the minutes were signed as a true record by the President, Mr. Michael Elliott.
4.0	MATTERS ARISING
4.1	No matters were reported.
5.0	TREASURER'S REPORT.
5.1	The full financial statement was recirculated by email to members, 14th September 2018 by Arun Sood, Spelthorne BC.

5.2	In summary, income has increased to circa £8,500 whilst expenditure was down. There is just over £9,500 in reserves the bulk of which is invested by Spelthorne BC with approximately £2000 being held in a current account.
5.3	Membership of LAANC for the year 17/18 is as follows:
	LONDON BOROUGHS
	Ealing
	Hammersmith & Fulham
	Hillingdon
	Hounslow
	Richmond
	Wandsworth
	UNITARY AUTHORITIES
	Slough
	Windsor & Maidenhead
	BOROUGH AND DISTRICT COUNCILS
	Spelthorne
	South Bucks & Chiltern Councils
	Elmbridge
	PARISH AND TOWN COUNCILS
	Colnbrook
	Datchet
	Horton
	Iver
	Old Windsor
	Wraysbury
	ASSOCIATES
	EANAG
	Englefield GAG
	Richmond Heathrow Campaign
6.0	DIRECTOR'S REPORT 2017/18.
6.1	This is the first AGM meeting without Gerry Ceaser. Gerry made an great contribution to LAANC which will be missed enormously. Colin Stanbury was honoured to give short address at his memorial service.

6.2	Significant developments this year included the following:
6.2.1	The Government has decided to expand Heathrow by its approval of the Aviation National Policy Statement. The process of granting planning permission, via Development Consent Order. will continue unless the policy statement is halted judicially.
6.2.2	Any expansion will be accompanied by air space change which will also affect other airports. There is no strategic plan for these changes. The meeting noted that there is already conflict between Gatwick and Stansted airports.
6.2.3	Heathrow Community Engagement Board (HCEB): previously Heathrow Airport Consultative Committee (HACC) has been formed as a new consultative body. It is chaired by Rachel Cerfontyne the former deputy chair of Independent Police Commission. The body is a company limited by guarantee but wholly funded by Heathrow. Meetings so far have not produced anything and the previous monitoring role taken by HACC seems to have been lost. Issues of membership, independence, terms of reference and decision making ability were discussed. It was suggested that LAANC may wish to invite Rachel to executive to explain matters further.
6.3	LAANC continues to contribute to working groups and responding to consultations on these matters. It will continue to ensure arguments are developed that will ameliorate and the effects of these and other developments on local communities.
7.0	FUTURE WORK PLAN.
7.1	Priorities are as follows:-
7.1.1	Support the ongoing judicial review of the Airport National Policy Statement.
7.1.2	Contribute to the next round of consultation regarding
	- the new aviation policy
	- airspace change consultation
7.1.3	Contribute to the work of the Independent Noise Authority if it comes into being.
7.1.4	LAANC may also contribute to the Development Control Order work in relation to the third runway.
8.0	ELECTION OF OFFICERS.
8.1	Cllr Malcolm Beer proposed and Mr Colin Stanbury seconded the proposition that Mr Michael Elliott be re-elected President. This was agreed unanimously.

8.2	The proposition of Cllr. Malcolm Beer to the Chair was proposed and seconded and this was unanimously agreed.
8.3	The appointment of Cllr. Howard Thomson Spelthorne BC, and Dr. Margaret Majumdar as Vice Chairmen of LAANC were proposed and seconded. This was unanimously agreed.
9.0	ELECTION OF EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE.
	It was agreed that the Executive members be as below in addition to the President, Chairman, vice Chairmen and Treasurer who are ex officio members:
	Mr. Paul Baker, London Borough of Hammersmith and Fulham Mr. John Coates L.B.Richmond Mr. Surinderpal Suri L.B.Hounslow Mr. Chris Nash, RB Windsor & Maidenhead Dr. Chris Hill Independent (co-opted/advisor) Cllr. J Nelson, L.B. Hillingdon Mrs Val Beale, L.B. Hillingdon Mr. Colin Stanbury, Director Cllr W Matthews, Iver Parish Council Cllr J Dabrowska, L.B. Ealing Cllr A Averma, Datchet Parish Council Cllr J Bowden, RB Windsor & Maidenhead
10.0	SUBSCRIPTIONS:
10.1	It was agreed the subscriptions should be increased by approximately 3% to the following from the 1st April 2019 Counties and Unitary Boroughs £791.00 Boroughs and Districts £562.00 Towns and Parish Councils £109.00 Associates £109.00
10.2	Honoraria for 2017/18 were agreed as follows Director £4811.00: Administrator £3482.00 -effective from 1st September 2018.
11.0	ANY OTHER BUSINESS Rob Gibson was confirmed to the position of honorary administrator (voluntary).
12.0	DATE OF NEXT ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING
	13th September 2019 (provisional).
	The AGM closed at 11.55am

Signed
Date